His: Compensating for Something?

So after a long weekend of punishing your liver like it’s going out of style, it’s always a good idea to detox.  I know, I know: this is not breaking news.  However, yesterday, when we got home from our mini vacation, I pledged to have a “healthy” week to make up for the weekend that just ended.  Generally, for me, this means not drinking.  So today I got to thinking after a pretty awful lunch of chicken parm on a bagel that I should at least have a serving of something that’s generally good for you with every meal.  Again, this isn’t rocket science, but bear with me, there’s a point.

Boating and Brews

Boating and Brews

When it comes to breakfast, I can usually count on myself to eat something relatively healthy (or at the very least not bad).  Today was a yogurt and an apple, but often enough this can attributed to the fact that I’m just not that hungry in the morning.  That’s something that a lot of people can relate to.  Dinner is also not an issue.  In fact, it’s the most nutritionally sound and well rounded meal that I eat each day.  This is because Ally is a wonderful cook who takes care of me.  Lunch is the one that gets me because left to my own devices, I can’t help but eat chicken parm, pizza and anything else that includes carbs and tomato sauce….THANK YOU TO WHOEVER AMERICANIZED ITALIAN FOOD!

What I’m trying to get to without getting too far off track is super foods.  Well, singular, super food…..Spirulina.  If I ingest this STUFF, will I truly be a healthier person?  Would it help at all if I ate a couple of slices and then downed a Spirulina Shamrock Shake?  If I took it in pill form every morning, would I be better off?  I’m going to order some and let you guys know how it turns out.  And I should preface this by saying I have an aversion to things that are green and technically alive.  Wish me luck.  In the mean time, here’s an article to check out with some quick facts.  Also, if anyone out there is eating any “super foods,” let me know what they are and if you see a difference.  Below is a passage from the article that is linked.  There are a lot of big words so it’s got to be good.

“Spirulina is sustainable food, offering more nutrition per acre than any other food. It is able to provide 20 times more complete protein per acre than soybeans, and 200 times more per acre than beef. It contains the eight essential amino acids as well as ten non-essential amino acids, making it an excellent choice for anyone not consuming animal protein. It is rich in enzymes, chlorophyll, magnesium, potassium, calcium, and phosphorous. It is rich in B complex vitamins including B6, biotin, B12, pantothenic acid, folic acid, inositol, niacin, riboflavin and thiamine. It is a good source of essential fatty acids, including linoleic, and arachidonic acid. Spirulina contains 4,000 mg/kg of carotenoids as alpha and beta carotene, xanthophylis, cryptoxanthin, echinenone, zeaxanthin, and lutein.”

Spirulina_Chlorella_Kelp

Dear Pharmacist – Spirulina as Supercool Superfood

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

