Hers: Goodbye, Summer

Well, summer has officially come to a close, and I can’t deny that a part of me is secretly doing the happy dance.  While I love the barbeques, the beaches, the visitors, and the late summer nights, I am exhausted.  We haven’t had a completely free weekend since May, and when you spend your work week traveling (as both Greg and I do), the running-around-like-a-whirling-dervish weekending takes its toll.  Still, before I buckle down and break out my flannel sheets and empty calendar, it’s good to think back and appreciate all this summer had to offer….

Good friends….

On the beaches of North Carolina

On the beaches of North Carolina

…and adventures….

My first fishing trip!

My first fishing trip!

…Special celebrations…

No, this is not us.  Sorry, Mom.

No, this is not us. Sorry, Mom.

…and time to p-a-r-t-y…

Making the Band, wedding reception style.

Making the Band, wedding reception style.

…Delicious ingredients…

Early heirloom tomotoes in Union Square.

Early heirloom tomotoes in Union Square.

…ready for excellent meals...

Grilled flatbread pizzas, a la Grillmaster Greg

Grilled flatbread pizzas, a la Grillmaster Greg

…and strong cocktails...

Happiness is a mojito....or several.

Happiness is a mojito....or several.

Though I’m eagerly awaiting the cooler weather (and better hair days) that will shortly be upon us, I have to say….it was an excellent summer.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

